Sunday, February 2, 2014

Would You Rather with Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Please welcome Jennifer Gilby Roberts, author of After Wimbleton, The Dr Pepper Prophecies, Wedding Hells, and Flights of Nancy.

About Jennifer:

Jennifer Gilby Roberts has a degree in physics and a postgraduate certificate in computing, so a career writing fiction was inevitable really. She was born and grew up in Surrey/Greater London, but now lives in Richmond, North Yorkshire with her husband, small daughter, two middle-aged cats and a lot of dust bunnies.
Taking care of her daughter is now her main job, but previously she worked many thrilling jobs in administration.  In these she learned the real truth of business: that every successful executive would be lost without their PA.
She can also be found getting red-faced at zumba class, reading historical porn (as her husband calls it - Regency romance to the rest of us) and humming nursery rhymes while going round Tesco.  Her current obsessions include toffee crisp bars, Costa fruit coolers and the TV show Torchwood.
JGR writes chick lit novels and short stories featuring sweet (occasionally sexy) romance, dry humour and things going tits-up.  They will especially appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.
Her first novel The Dr Pepper Prophecies is a laugh out loud romantic comedy, best described as Jane Austen's Emma with Bridget Jones in the lead.  
After Wimbledon, her second novel - about making big changes, falling in love and tennis - is due out late 2013.
She would like to thank everyone who's reviewed her work.

Connect with Jennifer:
Website     Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads


Would You Rather... with Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Chips, chocolate or cheese? 

You even need to ask?! Chocolate, of course

Bridget Jones, Becky Bloomwood or Carrie Bradshaw? 

Has to be Bridget. What I know about fashion would fit on a beer mat.

Wine, beer or vodka? 

I don't drink.

Camping or spa vacation?

Spa!  Spa!

Water or Mountains?

I love both, but I think it has to be water.


Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires, particularly if they look like Angel from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Dogs or Cats?

Cats. I have two middle-aged ones who like to walk over my keyboard.

Coke or Pepsi?

I don't like either. They make my teeth feel weird.

Coffee or tea?

Don't drink them either! (I mostly drink water, if you're interested. Not for health reasons, I just like it.  Yorkshire tap water is good stuff.)

Dine out or take away?

Take away. Then it doesn't matter that my toddler has left sticky marks all over my jeans.

High heels, sneakers or flip flops

Sneakers.

Physical book or ebook?

I still prefer hard copies for fiction. Also for reading in the bath. I fear it would be the death of my Kindle.

Paperback or Hardcover?

Paperback.  Hardcovers cost too much and make your arms ache.

Pen or Pencil?

Pen.  I press too hard and break pencils.


Mad Men, Downton Abbey or Breaking Bad

I have only seen Downton Abbey.

Drama or Comedy?

Comedy every time.

Twilight or Hunger Games? 

I haven't seen Hunger Games (really showing my lack of pop culture knowledge here!). I rather enjoyed Twilight. I thought they did a really good job of the films.

Lipstick, lipgloss or chapstick? 

Chapstick. Anything else goes everywhere in 30 seconds.

Facebook or Twitter

I'm more into Twitter these days. Better for connecting with people you don't know.


Plot your entire novel or fly by the seat of your pants? 

I've done both. Flying is more fun!


After Wimbleton

After 12 years on the pro. tennis tour and four years with her sort-of boyfriend, Lucy Bennett has had enough.  She wants real life... and real love.  
Her life, her decision.  Right?  Well, no one else seems to think so.  With opinions on all sides, Lucy's head is spinning.  And she's stumbling right into the arms of long-term crush and fellow player Sam.  Shame her boyfriend - his arch-rival - would sooner smash a racquet over their heads than agree to a simple change of partners.  
As the Wimbledon Championships play out, Lucy fights for her life on and off the courts.  The question is: what will she be left with after Wimbledon?

Available at:
Kindle Barnes & Noble


1 comment:

  1. Thanks very much for featuring me!

    ReplyDelete

Share!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...